SCHEDULE REQUIREMENTS RESOURCES

Survey of Art History 2
ARTH116-2 SPRING 2009

Christopher L. C. E. Witcombe


SCHEDULE

Thursday January 22

INTRODUCTION

Requirements
READ: Stokstad: pages xxvi-xxlvii


Tuesday January 27

Fourteenth-Century Art in Europe

READ: Stokstad: Chapter 17
BROWSE: Gothic Art


Thursday January 29

Fifteenth-Century Art in Northern Europe and the Iberian Peninsula

READ: Stokstad: Chapter 18
BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Northern Europe & Spain: 15th Century


Tuesday February 3 - Thursday February 5

Renaissance Art in Fifteenth-Century Italy

READ: Stokstad: Chapter 19
BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Italy: 15th Century


Tuesday February 10 - Thursday February 12

Sixteenth-Century Art in Italy

READ: Stokstad: Chapter 20
BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Italy: 16th Century


Tuesday February 17

REVIEW: Stokstad: Chapters 17, 18, 19, 20


Thursday February 19

FIRST EXAM


Tuesday February 24

Sixteenth-Century Art in Northern Europe and the Iberian Peninsula

READ: Stokstad: Chapter 21
BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Northern Europe & Spain: 16th Century


Thursday February 26

NO CLASS


Tuesday March 3 - Thursday March 5

Baroque Art

READ: Stokstad: Chapter 22
BROWSE: Baroque Art


Tuesday March 10 - Thursday March 12

Asian Art

READ: Stokstad: Chapters 23, 24, 25
BROWSE: Art of India, Art in Southeast Asia, Chinese Art, Japanese Art


SPRING BREAK


Tuesday March 24 - Thursday March 26

Art in the Americas, Pacific, and Africa

READ: Stokstad: Chapters 26, 27, 28
BROWSE: Art of the Americas, Art of Pacific Cultures, and African Art


Tuesday March 31

REVIEW: Stokstad: Chapters 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28


Thursday April 2

SECOND EXAM


Tuesday April 7 - Thursday April 9 PAPER TOPICS posted April 9

Eighteenth-Century Art in Europe and North America

READ: Stokstad: Chapter 29
BROWSE: 18th-Century Art


Tuesday April 14 - Thursday April 16

Nineteenth-Century Art in Europe and the United States

READ: Stokstad: Chapter 30
BROWSE: 19th-Century Art


Tuesday April 21 - Thursday April 23

Modern Art in Europe and the Americas, 1900-1945

READ: Stokstad: Chapter 31
BROWSE: 20th-Century Art


Tuesday April 28 PAPER due in class April 28

The International Scene since 1945

READ: Stokstad: Chapter 32
BROWSE: Contemporary Art


Thursday April 30

REVIEW: Stokstad: Chapters 29, 30, 31, 32


Tuesday May 5

THIRD EXAM