Survey of Art History 2

ARTH116-2 SPRING 2007 SCHEDULE REQUIREMENTS RESOURCES

Christopher L. C. E. Witcombe


SCHEDULE

Thursday January 18
INTRODUCTION
The Visual Elements
Requirements
READ: Stokstad: Starter Kit: pages xxiii-xxviii
LOOK: The Visual Elements (PASSWORD REQUIRED)

Tuesday January 23
Visual Devices
READ: Stokstad: Introduction: pages xxix-xlvii
LOOK: Visual Devices (PASSWORD REQUIRED)

Thursday January 25
Vision and Response
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 17: pages 576-583
LOOK: Impressions, Associations, Meaning, and Styles (PASSWORD REQUIRED)


Tuesday January 30
Early Renaissance Art in Europe
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 17: pages 583-610
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Northern Europe & Spain (15th century)

Thursday February 1
Early Renaissance Art in Europe
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 17: pages 611-628
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Italy (15th century)

Tuesday February 6
Early Renaissance Art in Europe
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 17: pages 628-643
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Italy (15th century)


Thursday February 8
Renaissance Art in Sixteenth-Century Europe
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 18: pages 644-671
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Italy (16th century)

Tuesday February 13
Renaissance Art in Sixteenth-Century Europe
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 18: pages 671-682
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Northern Europe (16th century)


Thursday February 15
NO CLASS
Your instructor is away at a conference in New York City


Tuesday February 20
Baroque Art in Europe and North America
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 19: pages 718-738
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Baroque Art (Italy)

Thursday February 22
Baroque Art in Europe and North America
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 19: pages 739-758
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Baroque Art (France and Spain)

Tuesday February 27
Baroque Art in Europe and North America
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 19: pages 758-785
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Baroque Art (Flanders, the Netherlands, England)


Thursday March 1 First Take-Home Exam available
Art in India after 1200
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 20
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Art of India


Tuesday March 6 FIRST TAKE-HOME EXAM DUE (9:00 a.m. in class)
Chinese Art after 1280
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 21
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Chinese Art


Thursday March 8
Japanese Art after 1392
Guest Lecturer: Professor John Goulde
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 22
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Japanese Art


SPRING BREAK


Tuesday March 20
Art of the Americas after 1300
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 23
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Native Arts of the Americas


Thursday March 22
Art of Pacific Cultures
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 24
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Native Arts of Oceania


Tuesday March 27
Art of Africa in the Modern Era
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 25
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: African Art


Thursday March 29 Second Take-Home Exam available
Eighteenth-Century Art in Europe and North America
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 26, pages 896-912
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: 18th-Century Art

Tuesday April 3 SECOND TAKE-HOME EXAM DUE (9:00 a.m. in class)
Eighteenth-Century Art in Europe and North America
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 26, pages 912-939
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: 18th-Century Art


Thursday April 5
Nineteenth-Century Art in Europe and the United States
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 27, pages 940-962
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: 19th-Century Art

Tuesday April 10
Nineteenth-Century Art in Europe and the United States
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 27, pages 962-993
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: 19th-Century Art

Thursday April 12
Nineteenth-Century Art in Europe and the United States
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 27, pages 993-1017
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: 19th-Century Art


Tuesday April 17
The Rise of Modernism in Europe and North America
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 28, pages 1018-1043
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: 20th-Century Art

Thursday April 19
The Rise of Modernism in Europe and North America
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 28, pages 1043-1081
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: 20th-Century Art


Tuesday April 24
The International Avant-Garde since 1945
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 29, pages 1082-1095
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: 20th-Century Art

Thursday April 26 Third Take-Home Exam available
The International Avant-Garde since 1945
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 29, pages 1095-1113
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: 20th-Century Art

Tuesday May 1 THIRD TAKE-HOME EXAM DUE (9:00 a.m. in class)
The International Avant-Garde since 1945
READ: Stokstad: Chapter 29, pages 1113-1152
LOOK: IMAGES
BROWSE: Contemporary Art